Flipped Learning · Innovation plan

My First Design for Creating Significant Learning Environments

This is my first attempt at designing a course for significant learning. I feel extremely privileged to have the opportunity to design learning goals for my students. I am always in search for the “next BIG thing”. When I take the time to invest in goal setting for my students, I am also investing in myself.  The constant need to ‘stretch’ myself aligns with the growth that I expect from my students. Learning is constant and our learning goals should be aligned with our growth.

Learning Environment & Situational Factors to Consider

  1. Specific Context of the Teaching/Learning Situation

I currently have 26 students in my morning class and afternoon class. My goals will apply to both groups of students. This course is a primary course, specifically 5th grade ELA. We meet every day for about 2.5 hours in the morning and afternoon. This course will be face-to-face instruction, with flipped learning embedded into our routine twice a week. Last year we experienced several networking issues in class. This was another motivator when I decided to choose flipped learning as my means of innovating my classroom.

  1. General Context of the Learning Situation

The learning expectations for this course include

  • making time for guided/small group instruction daily
  • measuring student growth and presenting data at PLC
  • integrating technology to increase collaboration, creativity, communication, and critical thinking
  • differentiating instruction to accommodate various learning styles.
  • 5th grade ELA TEKS will be used
  1. Nature of the Subject

Reading and writing are practical skills that are necessary. Teaching ELA can sometimes become theoretical which is why several students are less successful at making immediate meaningful connections. I say theoretical because the ideas that are taught are not tangible. (theme, character analysis, plot, inferring, concluding)

  1. Characteristics of the Learners

Students are of lower socio-economic background. Most of my students will be first generation college graduates.  This is a group of students who have experience with integrated technology so are very invested in using digital tools in the classroom. About half of my students are self-motivated when it comes to independent reading, but the other half of my students are not at all interested. Our learning goal is to increase reading fluency and comprehension by at least 25% by December.

  1. Characteristics of the Teacher

Learning is constant and my role is to be a facilitator of learning. My job is to provide my students with an environment where they can thrive and progress. Providing opportunities for my students to make meaningful connections is at the highest priority for me because no one deserves to be cheated when it comes to literacy. I am completing my 6 year in ELA and I feel that I am at the right place, at the right time. Getting students excited about literature has never been difficult for me, however everyday my goal is to model how to accept every opportunity as a learning opportunity. I struggle with not being able to give my lower performing students more time for small group instruction. Increasing this time when them is what inspired me to adopt flipped learning.

Questions for Formulating Significant Learning Goals

“A year (or more) after this course is over, I want and hope that students will be able to design and create solutions at the highest level of thinking. I want my students to be leaders of their own learning environments.”  

My Big Harry Audacious Goal (BHAG) for the course is:

To have students design and develop online tutorial videos to demonstrate their understanding of key concepts and help their peers with learning gaps.

This is linked to my innovation plan which introduces flipped learning to my classes. By allowing my students to create video lectures for their peers I am activating their ability to analyze, evaluate and create at the highest level of thinking (BLOOMS).  This opportunity also allows for an increase in guided instruction which is at the foundation for my innovation plan. 

Foundational Knowledge

  • Reading grade level text with fluency and comprehension
  • Using context clues to find the meaning of unknown words
  • Making inferences and drawing conclusions
  • Compare and contrast themes/moral lessons from fiction
  • Understand the authors purpose and point of view
  • Understanding character changes in relationships, roles, and and functions over time.

Application Goals

  • What kinds of thinking are important for students to learn?
  • Critical thinking, in which students analyze and evaluate
  • Creative thinking, in which students imagine and create
  • Practical thinking, in which students solve problems and make decisions
  • What important skills do students need to gain?
    • How to communicate and apply their understanding.
    • Problem solving skills
    • The delivery of new information and how to facilitate making meaningful connections.

Integration Goals

  • What connections (similarities and interactions) should students recognize and make…:
  • That sharing your understandings with others can contribute to embedding the information within.
  • How taking ownership of your learning is the best practice.
  • How to deliver information in a clear and communicative way

Human Dimensions Goals

  • What could or should students learn about themselves?
  • How to deliver information in a clear and communicative way
  • How to become effective teachers.
  • How to take ownership of their own learning
  • What could or should students learn about understanding others and/or interacting with them?

How to be accepting of others strengths and weaknesses.

How to want to help others to become more confident in ELA onjevtives.

“Learning-How-to-Learn” Goals

  • What would you like for students to learn about:
  • how to learn about ELA comprehension and fluency
  • how to become a self-directed learner of ELA

 

My Big Harry Audacious Goal (BHAG) for the course is:

To have students design and develop online tutorial videos to demonstrate their understanding of key concepts and help their peers with learning gaps.

Learning Goals Learning Activities Assessment Activities
Foundational

Learners will be able to make a connection with reading strategies that are being modeled by the teacher/facilitator. (How to infer the author’s moral lesson/theme of a story)

 

 

Flipped classroom lecture, respond to questions about the process of inferring the theme of a text. Google Classroom, Forms
Application

Learners will design and create a video, illustration,    or animation to reteach the objective and demonstrate understanding by communicating the steps needed to infer the theme of a story.

 

Brainstorming, drafting, and scripting the learning process.

Illustrating and creating visuals to support the information they wish to represent.

 

Google slides, Explain Everything,iMovie

Assessing their ability to communicate the learning process effectively

Integration

Learners will partner with one of their peers to provide feedback on their presentation.

Feedback/Peer Review

1-suggestion

1-compliment

1-question

Formative feedback with Google Docs
Human Dimensions

Learners will learn about their own personal teaching/learning styles and will begin to develop their learning philosophy

Discussion Reflection
Learning How to Learn

Learners will develop a knowledge of resources/tools and will understand the functions and benefits of each tool. Learners will explore the use of tools for additional videos.

Maintain a learning journal or contribute to the classroom blog Journal entry

Fink, L.D. (2003) A Self-Directed Guide to Designing Courses for Significant Learning. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.

Leave a Reply

